Butcher Row House

WELCOME! I’m the house that moved twice!

I am held together with pegs, no nails at all!

I was taken apart like a jigsaw

And put back together again!

 

I am black and white like a zebra,

I have an olden day smell,

I feel older than the hills…

 

In the shop there is a spectacular mini version of me!

If I was a fairy, it would be an excellent house for me!

 

LOOK AROUND, WHAT ELSE CAN YOU SEE?

 

The pictures are ghosts of people staring at us,

Army lorries parked in the High Street in 1915,

Soldiers who went off to the First World War,

 

Christening gowns that look like wedding dresses,

A small desk with an ink hole the size of your eye,

Sugar in the shape of a candle with tongs to break it,

A warming pan to warm your bed,

A dangerous cannon ball, as big as your head!

 

Here’s a smock worn by gardeners,

With the same design on both sides,

If you were in a hurry to change it wouldn’t matter,

You could dress yourself back to front!

 

Remember! Don’t drink from a bottle with ridges,

It may contain poison, and you will die!

 

Go upstairs! I have steep steps! Take care!

My stairs creak, you may think I will break…

If you fall down, say “Hello” to a coffin!

 

LOOK AROUND, WHAT CAN YOU SEE HERE?

 

A kettle shop sign, a treadle fretsaw,

An elaborate dress given by Miss Philpott,

A grandfather clock that looks like Big Ben,

Does it wear trousers? Ha, ha, ha…!

 

What is this? A Boot Bath! It’s enormous!

Originally green but now painted black,

So strong and made of metal,

It was taken from house to house to wash poor people,

Don’t sit in it now, it is fragile!

 

Thank you very much for looking around me,

Remember, I’m the house that moved twice in Ledbury!

 

I’m happy here now, in my home on Church Lane,

It could be fatal if I had to move again!!!

 

 

Written by Adam, Aidan, Ecaterina, Emily, Esther, Harvey, Jack, Kaycee, Oliver K, Poppy B and Stella

Year 3, Ledbury Primary School

 

With Sara-Jane Arbury

Poet, Ledbury Poetry Festival 2018

Leave a comment